Fishing is becoming too expensive

Home Forums Fishing Carp Fishing Fishing is becoming too expensive

This topic contains 10 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by  lynch 10 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

lynch

i am 15yrs old and have to buy my own fishing gear and i want to be buying quality gear but i have found that everything has got too expensive ( like a bivvy costing £500 when i can buy a camping tent for £30 that’ll do the same job ) does anyelse agree or is it just me

Think the bivvy / tent is a no-brainer, as for rods, reels, etc. Try to buy the best stuff you can afford but don’t just get the top of the range ‘cos it looks good and is expensive. If you’re carp fishing (I’m no expert) you’d be better off trying to find some good quality second hand rods and reels. They may not match when they are on the pod but I would imaging that would be better for you, different rigs on different rods.

Above all enjoy your fishing.

Mono

Best to read reviews on products as expense does not always mean quality

TF_Big Finn
    Participant

Its not things like bivvys that catch you fish its the line, hooks, bait ect you can catch fish on a shite rod and reel. a saying springs to mind here “ALL THE GEAR NO IDEA”….LOL

The Truth

With all the gear coming out of China presently, fishing tackle has never been cheaper!
    Why do you need to buy Aqua bivvy systems when there are cheaper alternatives that do the same job for a fraction of the price?
    Do what everyone else did when they were 15 as well. SAVE UP! I had to as nobody bought me any fishing tackle and back then when I was 15, there was no cheaper gear available and to get anything near usable would cost in excess of £80 for a rod & £50 for a reel (a lot of money back in those days).

MarkeR

buy second hand mate, theres plenty of brand name gear for sale on various fishing forums, you can upgrade your gear slowly without it costing a fortune.

jazzo