The WFSA have agreed to open up next year’s Champion of Wales event to all nominated club champions including the various regional qualifiers, making the event a major calendar competition.

This year’s final finally got underway following the late withdrawal of the original sponsor. Julian Shambrook of Anyfish Anywhere came to the rescue, providing prizes to the value of £400.

The event took place at Pwllheli, with anglers from all over the principality attending and former World Champion Alan Price heading a list of who’s who in the Welsh angling world.

Conditions looked perfect too, and there was a hell of a buzz amongst the competitors who all rushed off to their pegs straight after the draw.

However, soon after the whistle it became clear that the fish weren’t playing ball.
Dewi Hughes from North Wales switched tactics early on and was soon into bream and Ray Christo from South Wales followed suit.

As the match progressed it looked increasingly like this was a two-horse race. But former world champion Alan Price had different ideas and with a complete change of tactics he was soon hot on their heels. However, Dewi held his nerve and clinched this prestigious title by a slim margin.

At the presentation Dewi was awarded a trophy donated by the Welsh Federation President Mr Don Downe, along with prizes and pool monies.