Filling the 16th place for the final position in the Fish ‘O’ Mania final on 16th July will be Mark Wainwright of Normanton in Yorkshire. Mark put 53 kilos 770 grammes on the scales from peg 73 on Bonsai at Lindholme Lakes, Doncaster on Wednesday 29th June 2011. Mark caught carp to 7lb on chopped worm and caster.

In second place was former winner, and member of Team England’s Feeder squad Steve Ringer. Steve fished Laurels peg 33 and caught around 28 kilos of carp to 3kilos topped up by F1’s to total 45 kilos 150 grammes. He fished a short pole all day catching on luncheon meat over heavy feed. Third place went to former Fish ‘O’ Mania Champion Neil Machin. He caught a mixture of carp to 5lbs, F1’s and barbel from Oasis 25 to weigh 43 kilos 220 grammes. Jason Le Bosquet took fourth place with 42 kilos 520 grammes from peg 21 on Laurels just edging Tom Pickering into fifth place. Tom alternated the bomb and feeder on Bonsai 47 to finish with 45 carp for 40 kilos 210 grammes
Lindholme, which traditionally hosts the 16th qualifier each year, had another distinction this year as it saw the first 300 pegger since canals and rivers were the regular qualifier venues. Surprisingly there were a fair number of no shows, but with plenty of reserves in attendance most places were filled.
The fishing was in places quite disappointing, mainly due to the changeable weather which has taken it’s toll on the spawning season. That said weights were still impressive with over 30 kilos needed for 10th place and 20 kilos plus needed to win all but three of the 10 peg sections.
All the sixteen winners from the qualifiers held this year will be competing to win one of the most prestigious titles in angling, ‘Fish ‘O’ Mania Champion’, and an increased prize fund of £30,000 on Saturday 16th July 2011 at Cudmore Fisheries, Whitmore, North Staffordshire.
The line up for the grand final will be; Jon Arthur (Viaduct), Tony Curd (Makins), Chris Kendall (Lakeview), Tim Nash (Woodlands View), Alan Bruce (Packington Somers), Andrew Neal (Stafford Moor), David George (Monk Lakes), Shane Atkin (The Oaks), Andy Favill (Peatling Pools), Simon Christian (Tunnel Barn), Richard A’herne (Moorlands Farm), Robert Pelling (Partridge Lakes), Kieron Rich (Preston Innovations Boldings), Andy May (Heronbrook), Nathan Watson (Woodlands Lakes), and Mark Wainwright (Lindholme).