This year was the 11th event in memory of the Leicester legend Ivan Marks and each day was well-supported with around 90 anglers making the journey to fish this brilliant two-day festival of angling.

For most anglers it is just a great day out and for some the chance to win the coveted Ivan Marks trophy presented by Linda Marks.

The highest individual weight on either day wins the trophy.

Day 1 resulted in Pro Team Marukyu angler and ace pole float-maker, Mick Wilkinson, leading the field with a fantastic weight of 231lb off the Foundation Lake peg 9. Mick caught mainly down the margin on the pole, after catching early on the feeder cast tight to one of the islands, using the new Marukyu Focus baits. Look out for this new range as it certainly tempts the carp!

There were 23 back-up weights over 100lb, which made it a hard one to call.

Close on Mick’s heels were John Clegg with 197lb and the in-form Jarrad Smith with 196lb.

Day 2 historically fishes better and this year was no exception.

The winner with a fantastic weight of 251lb was Jarrad Smith with 29 large carp from Uglies Pool 3. Jarrad caught on the feeder and pole making no mistake from a fancied draw.

Close behind on Glebe Pool 1 was Marukyu angler Andy Williams with an impressive 236lb followed closely by Dave Smith with 222lb.

There were 42 weights over 100lb of quality fish and everyone had a great day.

Linda Marks presented the trophy and announced that four charities would benefit from proceedings from the event.

One of the selected charities is Get Hooked on Fishing who will receive a donation of £500.00. Ivan was a big believer in any charity that promoted our sport to younger anglers and long may it continue.


John Clegg                               197lb

David Doane                           102lb

Chris Needham                       178lb

Mick Wilkinson                       231lb

John Baker                              184lb

Andy Neil                                 115lb

Steve Porter                            143lb

John Wincup                            127lb

Jarrad Smith                            196lb

Dan Hull                                  158lb

Luke Banford                           178lb



John Wincup                            166lb

Luke Banford                           162lb

Jarrad Smith                            251lb

Gus Nursey                              121lb

Rich Bedder                            163lb

Ady Hull                                   160lb

Gordon Parker                        190lb

Rob Wootton                           141lb

Kev Russell                              179lb

Tom Lanni                               164lb

Andy Williams                          236lb


Pic: Jarrad Smith collects the Ivan Marks Memorial trophy from Linda Marks.