Sixteen teams of five anglers fished this year’s Angling Trust Schools National Championship, sponsored by Daiwa on Wednesday 15th July at Hallcroft Fishery, Retford.

The 80 anglers taking part faced tricky fishing conditions as the sun blazed down on calm windless lakes. Nevertheless there were some excellent catches with carp being the main species backed up with some quality skimmers and roach.

The team event proved to be really exciting with five points separating the top five teams and second and third place tied on points, which was only decided on overall weight.

The winners were one of the teams who have been fishing this event from the outset Dinnington High School A with 64 points. The team were; Leah Grayson, Tommy Moore, Luke Easy, Matthew Fores-Donnelly and Luke Harrison.

Runners up with 63 points and a weight of 37.210kg were Campsmount Academy. The team consisted of; Oliver Kerry, Jack Waugh, Josh Butler, Charlie Hemingbrough and Branden Clements. Third place went to Kettering Buccleuch Academy also with 63 points, but a weight of 32.120kg, the team were; Reece Haslam, Charlie Drake, Ben Stirzaker, Jack Spickett and Sam Miller.

Top 10 team results
Dinnington High School A 64 points
Campsmount Academy 63 points
Kettering Buccleuch Academy 63 points
Minsthorpe Community College B 61 points
Outwood Academy Valley 59 points
Minsthorpe Community College A 55 points
Swanwick Hall B 45 points
Haven High Academy 43 points
Swanwick Hall A 40 points
Elizabethan Academy Blue 38 points

The individual winner was Daniel Bryan fishing for Minsthorpe Community College B. from peg A10 on Outer Moat. Daniel fished a brilliant match using pellet shallow on a long pole to net twelve carp for an impressive 32.620kg. His best fish weighed in excess of six kilos.

Runner up spot went to Sam Claydon fishing for Thomas Cowley High A with a weight of 21,700kg. Thomas fished on peg A 11 next to the winner and also caught eight carp fishing pellet shallow. Third place went to Liam Dickenson of Outwood Academy Valley on peg D11 on Canal pool where he caught 18.800kg of small carp on the pole again fishing pellet on the hook.

Top Ten Individual results
A10 Daniel Bryan (Minsthorpe Community College A) 32.620kg
A11 Sam Claydon (Thomas Cowley High A) 21.700kg
D11 Liam Dickenson (Outwood Academy Valley) 18.800kg
D9 Charlie Hemingbrough (Campsmount Academy) 17.650kg
E7 Dylan Morgan (Haven High Academy) 14.700kg
E8 Niall Slack (Swanwick Hall B) 12.750kg
D15 Daniel Wright (Minsthorpe Community College A)12.000kg
E12 Luke Harrison (Dinnington High School A) 11.450kg
E9 Sam Miller (Kettering Buccleuch Academy) 10.250kg
A15 Kailhas Markham (Swanwick Hall B) 10.100kg

Section Winners
A10 Daniel Bryan (Minsthorpe Community College A) 32.620kg
B2 Tommy Moore (Dinnington High School A) 6.640kg
C1 Josh Butler (Campsmount Academy) 6.800kg
D11 Liam Dickenson (Outwood Academy Valley) 18.800kg
E7 Dylan Morgan (Haven High Academy) 14.700kg

The best female angler and winner of the Geoff Woodcock Memorial Trophy was Leah Grayson fishing for Dinnington High School A fishing a pole and meat bait on peg A13 with three carp and a few silver fish for a weight of 7.240kg.

Leah also won the inaugural match for this trophy in 2010.

The Angling Trust would like to offer their appreciation and thanks to Daiwa for once again sponsoring the event and providing prizes for all the competitors, and to Sandra Scotthorne for attending the Championship and presenting the prizes on the day. A big thank you to Hallcroft Fishery for hosting the event and providing refreshments for all the competitors, and also to all the schools who took part this year.

Full results are available at