The England fly fishing squad for 5th Youth World Championships to be held in Portugal during August 2006 had been announced.

The squad for 2006 is: James Armstrong; Joel Beeney; Sean Brooks; Ben Harris; James Hunt; Lisa Isles; Alex Jardine; Scott Nellins; Matthew Newton; Luke Shevlin; Chris Tuck.

Dave Mee of the EYFA said: “We hope to take two teams again to this year’s World championships. We have initially nominated 11 in the squad to make up two teams and a travelling reserve. The captain will be Matthew Newton.

“Last year we successfully participated in the 4th World Championships held on the rivers and lakes of southern Bohemia in the Czech Republic narrowly missing out on the top three medals that went to the Czech Republic and French teams.”

“We have come a long way in the last 18 months due to the hard work and effort put in by the squad. We fully expect this year that we will be pushing very hard for medals in the team and individual events.”