With all 60 pegs in at Tyler’s Common Horseshoe Lake for the first time in it’s history this was expected to be the hardest of all the qualifiers and with it being a bright day with no ripple on the water it didn’t disappoint in difficulty, but all 60 anglers were in the same boat which made it an even affair and the winner could have come from any peg. 

The first past the winning post was 2009 Fish ‘O’ Mania finalist Chris Vandervleit (Maver – Van Den Hyde) who weighed in 59lb 4oz from peg 25 who fished maggot on the long pole.  

In second place and also qualifying for the £3K final on peg 10 was 19 year old venue regular and one to watch in the future Jason Collins (Browning – Wickford) who switched from his usual meat approach on the venue to fish the pole towards the island at 14m using 6mm pellet as hook bait and 4mm pellet as feed and tipped the scales at 47lb 8oz finishing in third place and just missing out on the final was former England International Dickie Carr who was positioned next to Chris Vandervleit on peg 26 weighed in with 42lb 2oz. 

4th place went to Jonnie Cousins (Wickford Angling Centre) with 38lb 4oz, 5th place went to Tony Baily (Billercay AC) 25lb 8oz followed by Les Crowhurst (Tyler’s) in 6th spot with 25lb. Pete Upperton (Passies – Sonubaits) and Mark Sugden (Tyler’s) both finished joint 7th with 22lb 4oz, 9th came Graham Dack (Middy) 21lb 14oz and 10th fell to Richard Wager 20lb 8oz (Ockendon Bait & Tackle)


We now move to the South Coast next Saturday (3rd October) where we visit the Snake Lake at Wylands International Angling Centre in Battle for the 8th Qualifier in the series. 

Full Match Result 

Chris Vandervleit
 59lb 4oz
Jason Collins
 47lb 8oz
Dickie Carr
 42lb 2oz
Jonnie Cousins
 38lb 4oz
Tony Baily
 25lb 8oz
Les Crowhurst
Pete Upperton
 22lb 4oz
Mark Sugden
 22lb 4oz
Graham Dack
 21lb 14oz
Richard Wager
 20lb 8oz
Perry Stone
Barry Upperton
 19lb 8oz
Jim Collins
 18lb 12oz
Pat Cooper
 17lb 8oz
Steve Barnett
 17lb 8oz
Dave Ealding
Dennis Lipscombe
 16lb 12oz
Paul Law
 15lb 9oz
Martin Smith
 15lb 8oz
Tony Raymond
 15lb 4oz
Peter Steward
 14lb 6oz
Steve James
 14lb 4oz
Malcolm Bond
 13lb 10oz
Geoff Woods
 13lb 8oz
George Manoli
Tony Eustace
 12lb 12oz
Alex Reynolds
 12lb 4oz
Dave Davis
 12lb 4oz
Micky Hood
John Thompson
Jason Nash
 10lb 14oz
Eric Sugden
John Bell
 7lb 14oz
Darren Connock
 7lb 2oz
Barry Oliver
Albert Bowers
 6lb 8oz
Phil Starkey
 4lb 12oz
Adrian Marshall
Billy McKinley
Colin Bartlett
Danny Coss
Dave Dugg
Dean Hunt
Frank Thomas
Graham Hyde
Jimmy Dean
John Green
Ken Ogborn
Lenny Goulding Snr
Michael Newland
Pat Keeley
Paul Rounce
Paul Williams
Ricky Cook
Rob Bishop
Robbie Taylor
Steve Copping
Tom Webster
Tony Bell
Zac Brown